Monday, May 3, 2010

The 20 best songs of the year (so far)

It's barely May, and it's already been a banner year for music. Album after solid album has come down the pike, and some stellar tracks have been spread far and wide via MP3 blogs. I'm pretty pleased with the collection I've amassed this year to date, and I wanted to take this opportunity to share some of my favorite songs of the year (so far) with you. Sure, the year isn't even half over, but the fact that we're just a third of the way in and I'm already busting to the gut with awesome songs and amazing albums has got to be a good sign. What will 2010 bring next? Be sure to follow along with my blog, where every Friday I post my top five music-related events/insights/acquisitions of the week.

Tracks aren't arranged in any particular order, though this Magnetic Fields song probably is my song of the year, at present.

1. Magnetic Fields - You Must Be Out of Your Mind

2. Yeasayer - Ambling Alp

3. Tanlines - Real Life

4. The Hold Steady - Hurricane J [link to full album streeam]

5. Local Natives - Airplanes

6. The National - Bloodbuzz Ohio [link to full album stream]

7. Frightened Rabbit - Swim Until You Can't See Land

8. Surfer Blood - Swim

9. Ted Leo & the Pharmacists - Bottled in Cork

10. Teenage Fanclub - Baby Lee

11. Caribou - Odessa

12. Hot Chip - I Feel Better

13. David Byrne/Fatboy Slim feat. Steve Earle - A Perfect Hand

14. Vampire Weekend - Horchata

15. New Pornographers - Crash Years [link to full album streeam]

16. The Kissaway Trail - Sdp

17. Mumford & Sons - Little Lion Man

18. Freelance Whales - Location

19. The Futureheads - Struck Dumb

20. Shearwater - Black Eyes

1 comment:

  1. Some good stuff here, but I've got to confess that I just don't quite get the National's new album yet. I hope it will grow on me. I LOVE the New Pornographers' new album but probably because they sound so good together and this time they're letting Neko Case actually sound like she does on her solo work.